The Lost Coin

I have always thought that parables are a really way of teaching. Jesus used things and situations that were familiar to those he was teaching so that they could understand exactly what he was trying to say. That’s definitely an effective teaching strategy and the principle relates to inclusive catechesis: it helps to make sure what you are teaching is relatable to the person you are teaching. I want to share with you how the Parable of the Lost Coin (Luke 15 8:10) has come to mean a great deal to me recently for this very reason.

The Parable of the Lost Piece of Silver by Goldfridus Shalcken

I think its important to explain that I used to be mystified by the parable of the Lost Coin and I think it was because I hadn’t really understood the context of the parable. What I hadn’t realised was that the 10 coins mentioned in the parable are the coins given to a woman when she is married: so each coin would be important not only sentimentally, but also as insurance in case anything happened to her husband: she could use those coins to support herself and her children. These coins were very important in several different ways so understandably the woman was really worried and anxious and searched carefully until she found the missing one. The parable is explaining that God wants us and ‘searches’ for us even though we are sinners. It doesn’t matter if all of us draw close to him but one is left behind: he will still ‘search’ for that one person.

This parable was brought to life for me recently due to the ADHD medication shortage. This has had a major impact on ADHDers everywhere but one of the biggest impacts I have seen was for a little boy who has comorbid conditions. The lack of medication affected not only his ability to carry out simple tasks but caused issues with his physical abilities and the ability to communicate as well. Without sharing too much detail I can only say that it was really upsetting to watch a child lose their abilities in so many different areas and for a child to be in so much distress for so long. It was eye opening to realise how much medication can help ADHD and how quality of life can deteriorate without it: eye opening and frightening.

After several very long months this child has been able to access medication again and it has been the most wonderful thing to see: they are able to communicate, move and their smile is back. They still have complex learning difficulties but the fact they can now speak and enjoy things most children take for granted like using a swing is making this little boy so joyous. It is the most beautiful thing to see. This little boy has shown me the Parable of the Lost Coin in a way that has moved my heart and helped me draw closer to God. I see in him the joy of the lady with her coin: he can do things he couldn’t do and he is rejoicing with every action he takes.

Through him I can feel the joy of the lady who finds what she has lost and this has brought home to me the fact that God wants all of us to want to draw close to him: ALL OF US! This is why its so important that we find ways of making sure everyone has access to resources to help them build their relationship with God: because every single one of us is important!

Leave a comment